Repertoire Search

Peter Lieberson

Publisher: AMP

Raising the Gaze (1988),
Associated Music Publishers Inc
Large Ensemble (7 or more players)
Year Composed
7 Minutes
Programme Note
Peter Lieberson Raising the Gaze (1988),
Raising the Gaze was commissioned by the following organizations: the San Francisco Contemporary Music Players, Boston Musica Viva, and the Aeolian Chamber Players. Peter Lieberson composed the work in 1988; it was premiered in March of that year by the San Francisco Contemporary Music Players.

Composer Note:

I composed Raising the Gaze quickly, with the feeling of executing a set of brush strokes in thick black ink. The piece lasts about eight minutes and is essentially in three parts. The first part itself has two sections, different in tempo but each one fast and perky. The middle part of the piece is a “slow dance” for piccolo, then bass clarinet solo accompanied by sharp drum strokes and piano chords out of which arise clouds of string harmonics. The final part of the piece begins with a bravura violin solo and ends with a drum solo accompanied by the other instruments recapitulating the opening music.

—Peter Lieberson

  • Ensemble
    ASKO Ensemble
    Oliver Knussen
    Deutsche Grammophon:
  • Ensemble
    Boston Musica Viva
    Richard Pittman
  • Large Ensemble (7 or more players):
  • Ensemble
    Boston Musica Viva
    Richard Pittman
Lieberson’s shifting, gentle, inspired harmonies, gorgeous stillnesses and crackling dance rhythms are the musical equivalent of that elevated state in which quiet and exhilaration are one and the same.
Mark Swed, Los Angeles Times,26/05/2002
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.