Repertoire Search

Mark Adamo

Publisher: G. Schirmer

The Racer's Widow (2009)
Text Writer
Linda Pastan, Tennessee Williams, Marge Piercy, Louise Gluck, Sara Teasdale
G Schirmer Inc
Solo Voice(s) and up to 6 players
Year Composed
15 Minutes
Solo Instrument(s)
Sale from Rental Library Explain this...
Programme Note
Mark Adamo The Racer's Widow (2009)
1. The Racer's Widow
2. Across the Space
3. The Beloved
4. Jump Cabling
5. Sentimental Poem

Composer Note:
The Racer’s Widow is a cycle of five poems which I sequenced and scored to suggest the emotional journey of the title character. Linda Pastan’s “Jump Cabling” imagines the erotic sparks struck when a man helps the protagonist restart her stalled car. Tennessee Williams’ “Across the Space” and Marge Piercy’s “Sentimental poem” show two snapshots — one hushed and rapt, the other domestic and rollicking — in the romance that’s resulted. "The Racer’s Widow," by Louise Gluck, limns in harrowing detail the end of that romance; and Sara Teasdale’s “The Beloved’ offers a consolation that Gluck leaves unguaranteed.

The Racer’s Widow is scored for mezzo-soprano, violoncello, and piano; I am grateful to Roy Niederhoffer for commissioning the score.

— Mark Adamo

Sample Pages

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.