Repertoire Search

John Joubert

Publisher: Novello & Co

Sinfonietta (1962)
commissioned by Orchestra da Camera
Novello & Co Ltd
Sub Category
Chamber Orchestra
Year Composed
19 Minutes
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
John Joubert Sinfonietta (1962)
John Joubert: Sinfonietta, op. 38

Composed in response to a commission from Orchestra da Camera, my Sinfonietta is scored for 2 oboes, 2 bassoons, 2 horns and strings. It was performed in Birmingham in 1962 by Orchestra da Camera conducted by Brian Priestman. There are two movements. The first is a symphonic allegro in traditional first movement form. The second is in two parts: a slow introduction followed by a lively allegro in 12/8 time. The slow section introduces the wind instruments in cadenza-like passages, followed by a broad melody on the strings. The cadenzas re-appear, in combination this time, and a transition leads straight into the concluding allegro
© John Joubert

  • Ensemble
    English String Orchestra
    Henry Herford (baritone)
    William Boughton
    British Music Society:
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Wise Music Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2020 Wise Music Classical. Part of Wise Music Group.