Repertoire Search

Francis Poulenc

Publisher: Chester Music

L' Histoire de Babar (orch Françaix) (1940)
Text Writer
Jean de Brunhoff
Chester Music Ltd
Soloist(s) and Orchestra
Year Composed
22 Minutes
English, French, German
Alternate Orchestration

Scores on subscription
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Francis Poulenc L' Histoire de Babar (orch Françaix) (1940)
During the visit to Brive-la-Gaillarde in 1940, Poulenc sketched a little piece for the children of his cousins: Sophie, Sylvie, Benoit, Florence and Delphine Périer, Yvan, Alain, Marie-Christine and Marguerite-Marie Villotte, and their two friends Marthe Bosredon and André Lecoeur. This took the form of a musical background to Jean de Brunhoff's popular illustrated children's story about Babar, a baby elephant whose mother is killed by a huntsman. Fortunately Babar meets a kind elderly lady who dresses him in a fine suit and gives him an impressive motor-car.

However, Babar feels homesick for his forests, and is pleased when his cousins, Arthur and Celeste, find him and needs no persuasion to go home with them. Back in the forest, where the King of the Elephants has eaten a poisonous mushroom, Babar is elected to succeed as King. He marries Celeste, and the last we hear of him is thinking of a rosy future as he dreamily looks up at a marvellously star-filled sky.

Poulenc's score, to which he returned and completed in 1945, is for a narrator and a piano, so written that the individual sections offer the pianist a number of self-contained descriptive pieces, such as a LULLABY, a RÊVERIE, a GALOP, a NOCTURNE and so on. Indeed, some of Poulenc's finest piano music is found in these charmimg pages.

In 1962, Jean Françaix made an orchestral version, and BABAR has been enjoyed by children of all ages all over the world. An English translation of the text was made by Nelly Rieu.

Preview the score

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.