Repertoire Search

Thea Musgrave

Publisher: Novello & Co

Night Music (1969)
commissioned by the BBC
Chester Music Ltd
Sub Category
Chamber Orchestra
Year Composed
18 Minutes

Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
Full Score Full Score

Programme Note
Thea Musgrave Night Music (1969)
Night Music was commissioned by the BBC and given its first performance by the BBC Welsh Orchestra in 1969.

In this work, the two horn players are featured in a soloistic and dramatic way. Contrasting musical ideas are explored dependent on where they are seated in the orchestra - more lyrical when they are seated close together, more dramatic later on, when they stand either side of the conductor at some distance from each other, and then near the end the musical contrasts are further heightened by the echo effects produced by one distant offstage horn.

As so often in dreams there are quickly changing moods; (frightening, eerie, peaceful, romantic, stormy), and so in this work highly contrasted musical sections quickly follow on from each other, they interchange and even at times overlap.

The dream landscape painted in Night Music is thus in one continuous movement. The different sections which indicate the changing moods are:
Andante notturanle: / Misterioso: /
Svegliato: (waking up) /
Andante Amoroso.
Piu mosso: con ardore: /
Appassionato: / Calmo: (here the two horns move to their new positions either side of the conductor) /
Minaccevole: (threatening) / Adagio (violins)/ Tempo di Marzia (led by Horn 2)/ Ad lib nervoso (Horn 1 and piccolo)
Tempestuoso: (here the first horn moves offstage) /
Tempo di Andante amoroso alternating with Scherzoso: / Tempo di Andante:misterioso

  • Ensemble
    Scottish Chamber Orchestra
    Nicholas Kraemer
    Collins Classics:
  • Ensemble
    Scottish Chamber Orchestra* / BBC Symphony Orchestra**
    Nicholas Daniel, oboe*
    Nicholas Kraemer* / Jac van Steen**
  • 26 FEB 2016
    Royal Academy of Music, London
    Royal Academy of Music Ensemble
  • 22 OCT 2015
    Night Music Country Premiere
    Galicia Hall, Santiago de Compostela, Spain
    Galicia Philharmonie Royal
    Diego García Rodríguez, conductor
  • 22 OCT 2015
    Auditorio de Galicia, Santiago de Compostela
    Julián Hernández; Diego García Rodríguez, conductor

    Other Dates:
    23 October - Auditorio de Galicia, Santiago de Compostela
  • 21 OCT 2015
    Ashland, Virginia, US
    Richmond Sinfonietta
    William Curry, conductor

    Other Dates:
    22,23 October - Ashland, Virginia, US
  • 04 MAY 2008
    St. Andrews in the Square, Glasgow, Scotland
    Scottish Opera
  • 16 MAR 2008
    St Andrews in the Square, Glasgow
    Scottish Opera Orchestra
    Sir Richard Armstrong, conductor
  • 15 MAR 2007
    Uppsala, Sweden
    Uppsala Chamber Orchestra
    Roy Goodman, conductor
  • 15 MAR 2007
    Uppsala, Sweden
    Uppsala Chamber Orchestra
    Roy Goodman, conductor
  • 09 MAR 2002
    Fayetteville, Arkansas, US
    North Arkansas Symphony
    Jeannine Wagar, conductor
  • 09 MAR 2002
    Fayetville, AR
    North Arkansas Symphony
  • 15 FEB 2002
    Richmond, US
    Richmond Symphony Orchestra

    Other Dates:
    17 February - Richmond, US
  • 02 MAY 2001
    Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
    Manitoba Chamber Orchestra
    Roy Goodman, conductor
  • 02 MAY 2001
    Winnipeg, Canada
    Manitoba Chamber Orchestra
    Roy Goodman, conductor
  • 05 DEC 1998
    Manchester, UK
    Manchester Camerata
    Nicholas Kraemer, conductor

    Other Dates:
    13 December - Queen Elizabeth Hall, Oldham, UK
  • 09 MAY 1998
    Boston, US
    Boston Modern Orchestra Project
    Gil Rose, conductor
  • 19 NOV 1995
    Alexandria, Virginia, US
    Virginia Chamber Orchestra
    Cal Kellogg, conductor
  • 01 JAN 1990
    Springfield, Massachusetts, US
    Springfield Symphony Orchestra
    Raymond Harvey, conductor
  • 10 DEC 1989
    Cincinnati, US
    Cincinatti Chamber Orchestra
    Gerhard Samuel, conductor
  • 11 MAR 1989
    San Francisco, US
    Bay Area Womens' Philharmonic
    Joann Falletta, conductor
  • 26 MAY 1988
    BBC Glasgow, UK
    BBC Scottish Symphony Orchesta
    Thea Musgrave, conductor
  • 10 DEC 1986
    Royal Festival Hall, London
    London Mozart Players
    Jane Glover, conductor
  • 01 FEB 1986
    Maryland, US
    Maryland Womens Symphony Orchestra
  • 18 JAN 1986
    Cincinnati, US
    CCM Concert Orchestra
    Teri Murai, conductor
  • 15 OCT 1985
    King's School, Macclesfield, UK
    Northern Chamber Orchestra
    Nicholas Cleobury, conductor

    Other Dates:
    16 October - Assembly Rooms, Bowdon, Cheshire
    17 October - St Peter's Church, Burnley, Lancashire, US
  • 09 MAR 1984
    Berkeley, US
    Bay Area Womens' Philharmonic
    Jeannine Wagar, conductor
  • 18 NOV 1979
    New England, US
    New England Women's Symphony Orchestra
    Victoria Bond, conductor
  • 27 OCT 1979
    Ch Orchestral Society
    Carl Daehler, conductor

    Other Dates:
    28 October - US
  • 01 MAY 1979
    Opus 1
  • 01 NOV 1976
    Santa Barbara, US
    Santa Barbara Symphony Orchestra
    Thea Musgrave, conductor
  • 24 SEP 1976
    Sarah Caldwell, conductor

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2014 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.