Repertoire Search

Richard Rodney Bennett

Publisher: Novello & Co

Sonnet Sequence (1974)
Graham Benyon Memorial Commission
Text Writer
Novello & Co Ltd
Soloist(s) and Orchestra
Year Composed
13 Minutes
Programme Note
Richard Rodney Bennett Sonnet Sequence (1974)
The original version of this setting of Shakespeare Sonnets was commissioned by the Globe Theatre Trust, and was first performed in Southwark Cathedral in 1972. The revised and expanded version (1974) was commissioned by the East Midlands Arts Association, to be known as the ‘Graham Benyon Memorial Commission’. Originally, the work consisted of settings of Sonnets XIX and XII, separated by a short interlude for strings. When the work was expanded certain details of the scoring was changed and a setting of Sonnet CIV was added, also a further interlude. The new sonnet-setting involves an important part for solo viola. All three sonnets are concerned with Time.

Graham Beynon was the first Director of the East Midlands Arts Association, and previously Director of the York Festival.

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2018 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.