Repertoire Search

Richard Rodney Bennett

Publisher: Novello & Co

Concerto for Trumpet and Wind Orchestra (1993)
Novello & Co Ltd
Soloist(s) and Orchestra
Year Composed
20 Minutes
Solo Instrument(s)
Sale from Studio Music Explain this...

Scores on subscription
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Richard Rodney Bennett Concerto for Trumpet and Wind Orchestra (1993)
Richard Rodney Bennett’s first work for wind orchestra was Morning Music, commissioned by BASBWE for the 1987 WASBE Conference in Boston; this was followed by The Four Seasons commissioned by the Cheltenham Festival and premiered in 1991 by the RNCMWO. Both were commissioned with funds from the Arts Council of Great Britain.

The Trumpet Concerto was written in New York between April and June 1993 and is dedicated to Timothy Reynish. The work begins with a solemn declamatory 3/2 cadenza for the soloist; s short orchestral interlude leads to a 3/4 allegro, the pulse twice that of the cadenza, with spiky cross-rhythms alternating with the declamatory passage, followed by a faster 6/8.

A further cadenza ends the movement, and links to the second. This has the subtitle, Elegy for Miles Davis, a deeply felt Ballad accompanied by electric bass and bad, with a central section with scope for improvisation. The ensuing vivo, 2/2, starts with a bold statement by the trumpet, its cross rhythms reminiscent of the opening allegro; an extended development of this for the orchestra is interrupted by the declamatory cadenza material, the solo trumpet supported by his colleagues in the orchestra, and the movement ends with a molto vivo coda of tremendous energy. The scoring is for wind ensemble with piano and harp.

  • Ensemble
    Royal Northern College of Music Wind Orchestra
    Timothy Reynish
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.