Repertoire Search

Richard Rodney Bennett

Publisher: Novello & Co

A Book of Hours (1991)
dedicated to Susan Bradshaw
Novello & Co Ltd
Large Ensemble (7 or more players)
Year Composed
16 Minutes
Programme Note
Richard Rodney Bennett A Book of Hours (1991)
This work was commissioned by the Nash Ensemble with financial assistance from IBM and is dedicated to Susan Bradshaw on her birthday. It is scored for wind quintet, harp and string quintet, and lasts about sixteen minutes.

In the later Middle Ages the Book of Hours was an illuminated book of devotions which referred to the parts of the Divine Office which are named after the hours of the day. However this piece merely uses the title in tracing the passing of twenty four hours, divided into five movements, which are played without a break:

1. Intrada - Dawn
2. Morning
3. Intermezzo - Afternoon
4. Capriccio - Evening
5. Night

The central section of the third movement (the centre-point of the work) is a cadenza for horn and harp; the climax of the piece occurs at the transition into the last movement, after which the music slowly returns to the serenity of the opening.

  • 09 MAR 2013
    Royal Academy
    Royal Academy Junior Department
  • 14 NOV 2012
    Windsor Auditorium, Royal Holloway, London
    Royal Holloway Sinfonietta
  • 30 AUG 2011
    Presteigne Festival
    St Andrew's Church, Presteigne, Wales
    Presteigne Festival Orchestra
    George Vass, conductor
  • 09 JAN 2010
    Lucerne, Switzerland
    Musikhochschule IGNM Ensemble

    Other Dates:
    10,11 January - Lucerne, Switzerland
  • 08 OCT 2005
    Piggots Music Camp
    Piggotts Music Camp
  • 15 NOV 2001
    BMIC Cutting Edge
    The Warehouse, London
    CHROMA Ensemble
  • 15 NOV 2001
    BMIC Cutting Edge
    The Warehouse
    CHROMA Ensemble

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2018 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.