Repertoire Search

Karen Tanaka

Publisher: Chester Music

Frozen Horizon (1998)
Commissioned by MIRKK Art Forum
Chester Music Ltd
Large Ensemble (7+ players)
Year Composed
9 Minutes
Programme Note
Karen Tanaka Frozen Horizon (1998)
The idea of 'Frozen Horizon' is based on the landscape of Harstad, the city on one of the fjord islands in northern Norway which I visited for the Ilios Festival in January 1997. Extreme climate conditions prevail during the winter, when darkness lasts all day without any sunlight. One can see northern lights like hallucinations. Beyond the icy earth's surface, the frozen sea spreads towards a curved boundary line between the sea and the dark sky. Time passes slowly there.

'Frozen Horizon' was composed based on my memories of this extreme landscape.

This work was commissioned by the Mirkk Art Forum. It was first performed by the BIT20 Ensemble conducted by Ingar Bergby, at the Bergen International Festival in Norway, on 22nd May 1998.

© Karen Tanaka

Preview the score

  • Ensemble
    Azure Ensemble
    New World Records:
  • Large Ensemble (7 or more players):
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.