Repertoire Search

Stuart MacRae

Publisher: Novello & Co

The Witch's Kiss (1997)
Novello & Co Ltd
Large Ensemble (7 or more players)
Year Composed
10 Minutes
Programme Note
Stuart MacRae The Witch's Kiss (1997)
The Witch's Kiss has so many associations as to be difficult to write about. Here are a few of them:

The title comes from a line in the George Mackay Brown short story, Witch, in which a young girl is tortured, humiliated and burned in suspicion of heresy. There is, however, no connection between the music and this story other than that I was moved by while writing the piece.

Another association was when I first encountered the work of the sculptor Barbara Hepworth who, for a period, only made her beautiful and simple forms out of two pieces of stone. Although my initial intention was to follow this example, the music outgrew this structure (but the spirit of Hepworth's idea of beauty through simplicity and balance remains) and the work as it stands has four movements. The first is a cold, reserved, mainly quiet exposition of the work's material; the second, a frenetic, cadenza-like scherzo combined and contrasted with a pulse-based central section; the third is a 'psalm' based on the hetrophonic style of church singing in the north-west of Scotland; and the fourth, a return to the original material and mood - though intensified - developed and ultimately laid to rest in a chorale-like close.

The Witch's Kiss is dedicated to Simon Bainbridge.

© Stuart MacRae

"The Witch's Kiss:his most complete and satisfying work.Here he really encourages us to listen and the result is fascinating with richer, glowing sounds that, when it abruptly ends, leave us hungry for more."
Keith Cooper, Business am,21/08/2002
…in the four movements of The Witch's Kiss, MacRae's musical techniques become powerfully expressive. The third movement creates a keening lament from the simplist of melodies.
Tom Service, The Guardian,21/08/2001
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2018 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.