Repertoire Search

Peter Dickinson

Publisher: Novello & Co

Transformations (1970)
commissioned by the Feeney Trust
Work Notes
see also Satie Transformations for keyboard
Novello & Co Ltd
Sub Category
Large Orchestra
Year Composed
17 Minutes
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Peter Dickinson Transformations (1970)
Transformations arises from my interest, over many years, in the music of the French composer Erik Satie (1866-1925), but it is not necessary to know the details in order to understand the work. As a kind of homage to Satie I have taken three of his early piano pieces, without actual quotation, and derived material from them. In the process Satie is completely transformed and almost unrecognisably jazzed up - a feature of Transformations is that its themes are heard in straight and syncopated versions, often at the same time. Popular idioms are used within the framework of a serious orchestral piece, sombre in tone at the beginning and at the end.

There are five sections which follow without a break. The first is adagio, introducing the celesta between tutti chords; the second an allegro in a continuous texture over a pizzicato bass increasing in intensity. The third, central section is a blues, framed on each side by a few bars loud, slow chorale. Then comes another allegro, based on a very simple rhythm first heard pizzicato on the strings. Finally a short adagio, with a flute solo, reaffirms the calm of the opening.

Transformations was commissioned by the Feeney Trust and was completed in January 1970. It was received its first performance from the CBSO, under Meredith Davies, at the opening concert of the Cheltenham Festival that year.

© Peter Dickinson

  • Ensemble
    BBC National Orchestra of Wales
    Lesley Hatfield, violin; Robert Plane, clarinet
    Clark Rundell
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.