Repertoire Search

Nicola LeFanu

Publisher: Novello & Co

Collana (1976)
commissioned by Frank Epstein
Novello & Co Ltd
Small Ensemble (2-6 players)
Year Composed
12 Minutes
Solo Instrument(s)
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Nicola LeFanu Collana (1976)
Collana was commissioned by the percussionist Frank Epstein and his Boston ensemble, Collage; it is dedicated to them. The music has aspects of ritornello form, with three main forward-moving concerted sections. The last of these reaches a conclusive down beat, leaving the percussion and bass to create an unclosing cadence in its resonance.

Collana, the Italian for necklace, can also mean ‘a collection of favourite objects’. Beginning to compose the piece, I imagined collecting shells on a beach; by the time I had completed the music, the image of the beach had grown much stronger than the collection. It can be misleading to speak of the images behind an ‘abstract’ piece, but risking this, I should like the music to conjure up a broad expanse of strand on which is played out the endless ebb and flow of the tides.

Nicola LeFanu

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.