Repertoire Search

Barry Guy

Publisher: Novello & Co

Look Up! (1991)
commissioned by the cello ensemble of the Academy of St. Martin-in-the-Fields
Work Notes
Awarded the Royal Philharmonic Society Award for Chamber-Scale composition, 1991
Novello & Co Ltd
Large Ensemble (7+ players)
Year Composed
25 Minutes
Programme Note
Barry Guy Look Up! (1991)
Look Up!
The Spirit is alive:
Ermine spots are clouds;
Sun streamers are horse hair strands
And the red and yellow is for New Days.
Look Up!
Eagle is of Freedom:
Gliding among clouds…
Catching light of sun…
Beginning our tomorrow…
Phil George

LOOK UP! is dedicated to the bassist Ray Koster, whose untimely death occurred early in 1990. My meeting with him a few weeks before left me with a memory and vision of special witness to extraordinary hope, courage, and spiritual awareness.

On my return home I felt fired to respond to these moments by beginning the work for eight cellos which I had hoped would have been performed on his return to good health. Alas this was not to be. The words of American Indian Phil George in his poem Eagle Feather IV perhaps best expresses my feelings of that day in late 1989.

The work is in four parts:- Prelude, Rondo/Aria, Recitativo and Postlude. The first and last movements are short, quiet and mysterious - pizzicato in the first and arco in the last.

© 1990 Barry Guy

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.