Repertoire Search

Haflidi Hallgrímsson

Publisher: Chester Music

Daydreams in Numbers (1996)
5 of the pieces were commissioned by the Helsinki Junior Strings
Work Notes
This work is of flexible duration and consists of three volumes: Vol. I (7 pieces) Vol. II (6 pieces) Vol III (5 pieces).
Chester Music Ltd
Sub Category
String Orchestra
Year Composed
43 Minutes
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Haflidi Hallgrímsson Daydreams in Numbers (1996)
In 1986, the exceptional youth orchestra from Finland, Helsinki Junior Strings, commissioned six short pieces to be performed at the Aberdeen international Youth Festival. A few months later I planned several new compositions in the same genre, to add to the existing six, and the idea was born to eventually form a large collection of short individual pieces suitable for string orchestras of various standards.

The intention with this project, is to provide new music for string players covering a considerable range in terms of styles and instrumental techniques, and introducing in some of the pieces, the more modern approach to string playing.

Any number of pieces from all 3 Volumes may be performed in any order.

Volume 1
1. The Sacred Window (2')
2. The Pattern Repeats Itself (1')
3. Hungarian March (1')
4. Painting Venice at Dawn (2')
5. Pas de Deux (1' 30")
6. Expanding Horizon (2')
7. Marching (1' 30")

(Total duration of Volume 1 = c. 11 minutes)

Volume 2
1. Unisono (2')
2. Humoresque (1' 30")
3. Unisono Furioso (1')
4. Homecoming (3' 30")
5. Hymn at the Rock (5' 30")
6. Speak, Gentle Giant (3' 30")

(Total duration of Volume 2 = c. 17 minutes)

Volume 3
1. Lullaby at Glacier (3' 30")
2. Seascape (3')
3. The Beam of Light (3')
4. A Winged Horse Rising From The Sea (2')
5. Resonance/Antiphon (3')

(Total duration of Volume 3 = c. 15 minutes)

© Haflidi Hallgrímsson

Preview the scores at ScoresOnDemand on ISSUU.

  • Ensemble
    Helsinki Junior Strings
    Géza Szilvay
  • Ensemble
    Scottish Chamber Orchestra
    Virginia Black, harpsichord / Philippa Davies, flute / Haflidi Hallgrímsson, cello / Pétur Jónasson, guitar
    Haflidi Hallgrímsson
At the start of the programme, yet by no means swept aside by what came later, were six out of 18 Icelandic Miniatures by Haflidi Hallgrimsson, charming, sparkly, sometimes moody studies in string tone entitled Daydreams in Numbers. Conducted by the composer, they were treated with all the attention to line and rhythm they deserved.
Conrad Wilson, The Herald,22/03/2006
Haflidi Hallgrimsson's Daydreams in Numbers, delivered in instalments this season by Edinburgh's much-loved chamber orchestra [Meadows Chamber Orchestra], are an Icelandic composer's sketchbook for strings, aimed at players who can savour the music's playfulness. As preludes to Schumann's Piano Concerto, the six pieces unveiled seemed apt, their titles evocative of Schumann himself, the performances responsive to whatever had caught Hallgrimsson's fancy.
Conrad Wilson, The Herald,01/01/0001
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2020 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.