Repertoire Search

Haflidi Hallgrímsson

Publisher: Chester Music

Ríma (1994)
commissioned by the Olympics Committe for the 1994 Winter Olympics
Text Writer
Chester Music Ltd
Soloists and Orchestra
Year Composed
20 Minutes
Programme Note
'Ríma' was commissioned by the Lillehammer Olympic Organising Committee (LOOC) for the Norwegian Chamber Orchestra and Ragnhild Heiland Sorensen.

The title Ríma, literally meaning rhyme, derives from the title of the book: Rimi de Michelangelo Buonarroti, which contains the sonnet I have chosen.

In composing 'Ríma', as well as ‘illustrating’ the poem in music, I entered in my imagination, the imagined dream of the old Michelangelo, trying to be profoundly awake, yet dreaming in music, so to speak.

The work is predominantly slow and distant, giving the soprano-line for most part, a spacious and dreamlike harmonic framework within which to move. A solo cello plays an important role, and at one stage, joins the soprano in a long unison passage. Repeated semitonal fragments in the violin develop into a big climax; the blows of the hammer, the splintering marble, the chisel, the obsessive desire for eternal life through art. The despair and final solace and peace in sleep, in death, "the great friend of mankind", as Mozart put it.

Ríma ends quietly, with a ghostly flickering, into remnants of a dream evaporating?

© Haflidi Hallgrímsson

  • Ensemble
    Reykjavik Chamber Orchestra
    Ragnhild Heiland S¢rensen (soprano), Pórunn Osk Marinósdóttor (viola), Thorleif Thedéen (cello)
    Bernharour Wilkinson
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Wise Music Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2020 Wise Music Classical. Part of Wise Music Group.