Repertoire Search

Aulis Sallinen

Publisher: Novello & Co

Chamber Music I (1975)
commissioned by the Helsinki Chamber Orchestra
Novello & Co Ltd
Sub Category
String Orchestra
Year Composed
13 Minutes
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Aulis Sallinen Chamber Music I (1975)
Sallinen wrote Chamber Music I in 1975, soon after completing his Third Symphony. The tonal framework of this 12-minute piece for string orchestra is deliberately indeterminate: a steady ripple of unfocused sound, string sections divided into many parts, and the interrelation of small interval shifts being slotten in to one another with meticulous care. Emerging from this wash of sound is a five note thematic cell, rising then falling, out of which grows a melodic phrase. A second motive makes its appearance; the dream-like tempo speeds up; and the pattern of the piece now receives a new dimension by the prominence given to a succession of falling seconds.

A dramatic element becomes manifest at the work's pivotal point. There has been a move towards the crystallization of a tonal centre, where the repeated dropping interval of a third, so simple in its effect, plays a crucial role. Then the tension gradually lessens. A group of trickling, drooping scales from solo instruments pays a passing tribute to an aspect of Schoeberg's Verklaerte Nacht. The crystallized focal point is reached once again and, as the piece moves to it's conclusion, the five note cell which made its presence felt earlier is transformed into a 'motto' comprising four notes, recalling - whether consciously or not, only the composer knows - Richard Strauss' dying Don Quixote.

© Ronald Weitzman

  • Ensemble
    Stockholm Chamber Ensemble
    Gunilla van Bahr, flute
    J.-O. Wedin / Okko Kamu
  • Ensemble
    Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra / Finlandia Sinfonietta / Avanti! Chamber Orchestra
    Arto Noras, cello / Jouko Harjanne and Aki Välimäki, bass trumpets
    Okko Kamu / Osmo Vänskä / Jukka-Pekka Saraste
  • Ensemble
    Finnish Chamber Orchestra
    H. Juutilainen, flute / M. Rondin, cello
    Okko Kamu
  • G. Schirmer / AMP:
  • Ensemble
    Jyväskylä Sinfonia
    Arto Noras, Alexis Roman, Ville Matvejeff, Ralf Gothoni
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.