Repertoire Search

Igor Stravinsky

Publisher: Chester Music

Suite: The Soldier's Tale (L'Histoire du Soldat) (1920)
Work Notes
Published by Chester Music worldwide except for the United Kingdom, Ireland, Australia, Canada, South Africa and all reversionary rights territories where the copyright is held jointly by Schott Music GmbH & Co. KG, Mainz, Germany and Chester Music Ltd.
Chester Music Ltd
Large Ensemble (7+ players)
Year Composed
25 Minutes
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Igor Stravinsky Suite: The Soldier's Tale (L'Histoire du Soldat) (1920)
Stravinsky had first met the Swiss writer, C.F.Ramuz in 1915 and worked with him on the French version of Renard and Les Noces so it was not surprising when he again collaborated with him on the L’Histoire du Soldat a few years later. The war had understandably affected the financial situation and both composer and librettist wanted to write something which could be produced simply and economically. L’Histoire du Soldat is scored for dancer, three speaking parts and seven instruments and has proved to be successful on an almost unbelievable international scale since its first performance in Lausanne in September 1918 (described in the programme as “to be read, played and danced”). The story tells of the Soldier who has a magic violin which he trades with the Devil who promises to fulfil his every wish. One of his many encounters involves his curing the lovely daughter of a King but throughout the piece the Devil proves a tricky protagonist.
The Concert Suite consists of the following Movements:
1. The Soldier’s March
2. Airs by a Stream
3. Pastorale
4. Royal March
5. The Little Concert
6. Three Dances: Tango – Waltz – Ragtime
7. Dance of the Devil
8. Grand Choral
9. Triumphal March of the Devil

and was first performed in London’s Wigmore Hall in July 1920.

Sheila MacCrindle

  • Ensemble
    Columbia Symphony Orchestra / Columbia Chamber Ensemble
    C. Berberian, voice / Igor Stravinsky, piano
    Igor Stravinsky
  • Ensemble
    Radio Symphony National Orchestra
    Neeme Järvi
  • Ensemble
    Royal Scottish National Orchestra
    Neeme Järvi
  • Ensemble
    Philharmonia Orchestra, Orchestra of St Luke's
    Robert Craft
  • Large Ensemble (7 or more players):
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.