Repertoire Search

Esa-Pekka Salonen

Publisher: Chester Music

Mimo II (1992)
Chester Music Ltd
Soloists and Orchestra
Year Composed
13 Minutes
Solo Instrument(s)
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Esa-Pekka Salonen Mimo II (1992)
Mimo II for oboe and small orchestra was written in 1992 - a version of a piece for oboe and piano entitled Second Meeting which was completed by the composer earlier that same year.

The form resembles that of the familiar theme and variations, but in this piece there are seven themes or melodies, all of which are closely related.

The first performance was in December 1992 in Helsinki in a concert given by the Finnish Radio Orchestra, conducted by the composer and relayed by the European Broadcasting Union.

  • Ensemble
    Swedish Symphony Orchestra
    Bengt Rosengren, oboe
    Daphne Records:
  • Ensemble
    Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra / Avanti! Cahmber Orchestra
    Tuija Hakkila, piano / Mikael Helasvuo, flute / Anssi Karttunen, cello / Anu Komsi, soprano / Kari Krikku, clarinet / Pekka Savijoki, alto saxophone / Jukka Tiensuu, harpsichord / Jorma Valjakka, oboe
    Esa-Pekka Salonen
  • Ensemble
    Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra / Avanti! Chamber Orchestra
    Pekka Savijoki, alto saxophone / Jorma Valjakka, oboe / Mikael Helasvuo, alto flute / Tuija Hakkila, piano / Anssi Karttunen, cello / Anu Komsi, soprano
    Esa-Pekka Salonen
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.