Repertoire Search

Kaija Saariaho

Publisher: Chester Music

Miranda's Lament (1997)
Work Notes
a birthday present for Paavo Heininen. Part of 'The Tempest Songbook'
Text Writer
Chester Music Ltd
Solo Voice(s) and up to 6 players
Year Composed
6 Minutes

Scores on subscription
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
Full Score   
Set of Parts   

Programme Note
Kaija Saariaho Miranda's Lament (1997)
Miranda’s Lament
William Shakespeare: The Tempest

Miranda: If by your art, my dearest father, you have
Put the wild waters in this roar, allay them.
The sky it seems would pour down stinking pitch,
But that the sea, mounting to th’ welkin’s cheek,
Dashes the fire out. O, I have suffered
With those that I saw suffer! A brave vessel,
Who had, no doubt, some noble creatures in her,
Dashed all to pieces. O, the cry did knock
Against my very heart! Poor souls, they perished,
Had I been any god of power, I would
Have sunk to sea within the earth, or ere
It should the good ship so have swallowed and
The fraughting souls within her.
Prospero: Be collected.
No more amazement, Tell your piteous heart
There's no harm done.

  • Ensemble
    Avanti! Chamber Orchestra
    Petteri Salomaa, bass / Anu Komsi, soprano / Pia Komsi, soprano
  • Ensemble
    Los Angeles Philharmonic
    Anu Komsi (soprano), Riikka Rantanen (contralto), Petri Alanko (alto flute), Anssi Karttunen (cello), Petteri Salomaa (baritone), John Storgards (violin), Pia Freund (soprano), Gabriel Suovanen (baritone), Karita Mattila (soprano)
    Esa-Pekka Salonen
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.