Repertoire Search

Witold Lutosławski

Publisher: Chester Music

Novelette (1979)
Commissioned by National Symphony Orchestra
Work Notes
Chester Music is the publisher of this work in all territories except Poland, Albania, Bulgaria, China, countries of the former Czechoslovakia, Cuba, North Korea, Vietnam, Romania, Hungary and the whole territory of the former USSR, where the copyright is held by Polskie Wydawnictwo Muzyczne (PWM).
Chester Music Ltd (Polish Works)
Sub Category
Large Orchestra
Year Composed
18 Minutes

Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
Full Score Full Score

Programme Note
Witold Lutosławski Novelette (1979)

Novelette owes its existence to Mstislav Rostropovich. When he was appointed Musical Director of the National Symphony Orchestra in Washington, he asked me to write a work for him to conduct with his new orchestra. This was not in fact the first occasion on which I composed a piece at the suggestion of this great artist; in the 1960s he had spurred me on to write a cello concerto. Composed very much with him in mind and dedicated to him, it was subsequently commissioned by the Royal Philharmonic Society in London, at one of whose concerts he gave the World Premiere.

Novelette is in five movements and despite the work’s almost miniature character, its total duration is eighteen minutes. As has happened in some of my other works, the last movement is more substantial than those which precede it, forming a kind of counterbalance to them. The titles of the movements are ‘Announcements’, ‘Three Events’ and ‘Conclusion’. The first movement is so-called because in it I present as it were samples of the ‘events’ which follow. The three are contrasting in character, the slow middle one being ‘buffo’ and the third one being a fast and sparkling scherzando. The ‘Conclusion’ consists largely of a slow heterophonic cantilena of two groups of violins with the accompaniment of other instruments playing ‘ad libitum’.

© Witold Lutoslawski

  • Ensemble
    Guildhall School of Music and Drama Symphony Orchestra
    L. Hopkins, cello
    Witold Lutoslawski / W. Michniewski
    Somm Recordings:
  • Ensemble
    BBC Symphony Orchestra
    K. Zimmerman, piano
    Witold Lutoslawski
    Deutsche Grammophon:
  • Ensemble
    Polish National Radio Symphony Orchestra
    A. Bauer, cello
    Antoni Wit
  • 19 NOV 2017
    Anna Karenina | Choreography by Christian Spuck
    München, Germany
    Bayerisches Staatsorchester München
    Solisten und Ensemble des Bayerischen Staatsballetts; Adrian Oetiker, piano; Robertas Servenikas, conductor

    Other Dates:
    25 November; 1 December; 23 March 2018; 22 April 2018; 10 May 2018; 15,30 June 2018 - München, Germany
  • 12 OCT 2014
    Zürich, Switzerland
    Philharmonia Zürich
    Paul Connelly, conductor

    Other Dates:
    17,19,21,26 October; 21,29 November; 2,5,11,14,26 December; 4 January 2015 - Zürich, Switzerland
  • 18 APR 2013
    Bilbao SPAIN
    Bilbao SO
    Zollman, conductor

    Other Dates:
    19 April - Bilbao SPAIN
  • 08 MAR 2013
    Concert Hall, Warsaw
    Warsaw Philharmonic Symphony Orchestra
    Alexander Lazarev, conductor

    Other Dates:
    9 March - Concert Hall, Warsaw
  • 19 JAN 2010
    National Concert Hall, Dublin, Ireland
    RTE National Symphony Orchestra
  • 11 SEP 1999
    Frankfurt, Germany
    Junge Deutsche Philharmonie
    Thomas Hengelbrock, conductor
  • 07 MAY 1999
    Xalapa, Veracruz, Mexico
    University of Veracruz
    Wojciech Michniewski, conductor

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2018 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.