Repertoire Search

Manuel de Falla

Publisher: Chester Music

El Amor brujo (Second Version) (1925)
Work Notes
This work is protected by copyright in Canada
Chester Music Ltd
Soloists and Orchestra
Year Composed
23 Minutes
Solo Instrument(s)
Mezzo soprano [=Contralto]
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Manuel de Falla El Amor brujo (Second Version) (1925)

Candelas, a beautiful young woman, is prevented from returning the passionate love of Carmelo, a handsome, gallant man, by the ghost of a faithless wicked gypsy whom she once loved. Carmelo persuades Lucia, a friend of Candelas, to act as decoy and distract the ghost while he convinces Candelas of his true love and they exchange the kiss that breaks the evil spell.

Preview the score

  • Soloist(s)
    J-F Heisser, piano
  • Soloist(s)
    Alicia Nafé, María José Martos
    Maximiano Valdes
  • Ensemble
    Chicago Symphony Orchestra
    Jennifer Larmore, mezzo-soprano
    Daniel Barenboim
    Chicago Symphony Orchestra:
  • 28 SEP 2019
    Miriam A. Friedberg Concert Hall, Baltimore, MD
    Peabody Chamber Orchestra
    Joseph Young, conductor
  • 29 SEP 2019
    Glens Falls High School, Glens Falls, NY
    Glens Falls Symphony Orchestra
    Charles Peltz, conductor
  • 16 NOV 2019
    St. John the Divine Episcopal Church, Houston, TX
    River Oaks Chamber Orchestra
    Alastair Willis, conductor
  • 25 JAN 2020
    Festival Concert Hall, NDSU, Fargo ND
    Fargo-Moorhead Symphony Orchestra
    Christopher Zimmerman, conductor

    Other Dates:
    26 January - Festival Concert Hall, NDSU, Fargo ND
  • 28 FEB 2020
    Auditorio de Galicia de Santiago of Compostela, Spain
    Real Filharmonia de Galicia
    María José Pérez (cantaora); Pablo Gonzalez, conductor

    Other Dates:
    5,4,6 March - Grosse Pestpielhaus of Salzburg, Austria
    7 March - Festpielhaus of Bregenz, Austria

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.