Repertoire Search

Rupert Bawden

Publisher: Novello & Co

Two Studies (1994)
commissioned by the St. Asaph - North Wales Music Festival
Novello & Co Ltd
Sub Category
Large Orchestra
Year Composed
8 Minutes
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Rupert Bawden Two Studies (1994)
i. Prelude
ii. The Flour on the Floor

Two Studies was the beginning of what I had hoped might become a stage work based on the Tristan story. I started composing it as an ‘imaginary ballet’ when Geraint Lewis commissioned a piece for the 1994 St Asaph Festival. Events pursued a twisted course however, and I only produced a series of fragments, from which I composed my short piano concerto The Road of Mirrors and this piece. Lasting around eight minutes, Two Studies is a snapshot of a larger work that never was. It was first performed on 20 September 1994, at St Asaph’s Cathedral, Wales by the BBC National Orchestra of Wales, conducted by the composer.

Rupert Bawden

Preview the score

  • Ensemble
    Creakes Sinfonia/BBC National Orchestra of Wales/Nash Ensemble
    Alexander Grove, Flora McIntosh, Andrew Heggie
    Gary Cheung/Rupert Bawden
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.