Repertoire Search

Simon Holt

Publisher: Chester Music

Morpheus Wakes (2011)
Chester Music Ltd
Soloist(s) and Orchestra
Year Composed
15 Minutes
Solo Instrument(s)

Scores on subscription
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Simon Holt Morpheus Wakes (2011)
'Morpheus Wakes' is a flute concerto in 2 movements. For the first 11' movement, the flute solo plays only alto flute. Initially the music seems to be thawing out of a slow, dark-hued and quite sparse permafrost-covered landscape. The player will change to flute for the second 4' movement, which will be, by contrast, wild and unleashed, bordering on the chaotic; bright and vividly awake. The soloist could be seen to represent the god of dreaming, Morpheus himself, as if slowly waking from a deep, troubled sleep.

18th December 2013

Preview the score

'Disturbingly brilliant'
Ivan Hewett, The Daily Telegraph,16/12/2014
"The closing trio with orchestral flute and piccolo is vibrancy itself."
Paul Driver, Sunday Times,03/08/2014
“Holt’s kaleidoscopically colourful harnessing of Hungarian cimbalom, harp and bass clarinet played a crucial part in a thoughtfully conceived accompanying instrumentation that saw strings devoid of violins and a colouristic palette of vivid imagination.”
Christopher Thomas, Seen and Heard,30/07/2014
“Textures, layers, colour kaleidoscopes: Holt expertly juggled them from the soloist’s two flutes…Even when Morpheus was bleary-eyed, sounds blended with crystal clarity.”
Geoff Brown, The Times,29/07/2014
“The dreamy opening developed gradually into extremely virtuosic writing for the flute”
Bernard Hughes, The Arts Desk,28/07/2014
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.