Repertoire Search

Roy Harris

Publisher: AMP

Symphony No. 6 “Gettysburg”
EMI Music Inc
Sub Category
Large Orchestra
28 Minutes
Programme Note
Roy Harris Symphony No. 6 “Gettysburg”
I. Awakening (Fourscore and seven years ago...)
II. Conflict (Now we are engaged in a great civil war...)
III. Dedication (We are met on a great battlefield of that war...)
IV. Affirmation (...that we here highly resolve that these dead shall not have died in vain...)

The Gettysburg Addess
Inscribed on the walls of the Lincoln Memorial in Washington DC
Fourscore and seven years ago our fathers brought forth on this continent a new nation, conceived in liberty, and dedicated to the proposition that all men are created equal.

Now we are engaged in a great civil war, testing whether that nation, or any nation so conceived and so dedicated, can long endure.

We are met on a great battlefield of that war.

We have come to dedicate a portion of that field as a final resting-place for those who here gave their lives that that nation might live.

It is altogether fitting and proper that we should do this.

But, in a larger sense, we cannot dedicate…we cannot consecrate…we cannot hallow…this ground.

The brave men, living and dead, who struggled here, have consecrated it far above our poor power to add or detract.

The world will little note nor long remember what we say here, but it can never forget what they did here.

It is for us, the living, rather, to be dedicated here to the unfinished work which they who fought here have thus far so nobly advanced.

It is rather for us to be here dedicated to the great task remaining before us…that from these honored dead we take increased devotion to that cause for which they gave the last full measure of devotion; that we here highly resolve that these dead shall not have died in vain; that this nation, under God, shall have a new birth of freedom; and that government of the people, by the people, for the people, shall not perish from the earth.
November 19, 1863

  • Ensemble
    Bournemouth S.O.
    Marin Alsop
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.