Repertoire Search

Haflidi Hallgrímsson

Publisher: Chester Music

Poemi (1983)
commissioned by the Scottish Chamber Orchestra with funds provided by the Arts Council of Great Britain
Chester Music Ltd
Soloist(s) and Orchestra
Year Composed
30 Minutes
Solo Instrument(s)
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note

'Poemi' is based on three allegorical paintings by Marc Chagall, each of which is a masterly depiction of a well-known text the Old Testament: The Dream of Jacob, The Sacrifice of Isaac and Jacob in Combat with the Angel. My intention in writing the work was to compose a virtuoso piece for violin and string orchestra, which would recreate in music the poetic essence of Chagall’s paintings.

The soloist is at the centre of the ‘musical stage’ throughout, with the orchestra providing a constantly changing ‘scenery’. The music progresses from the tranquillity of the Dream in the first movement, through the drama of the Sacrifice in the second, to the fast and tense Combat with the Angel which forms the final movement.

'Poemi' was awarded the Nordic Council Prize in March 1986.

© Haflidi Hallgrímsson

  • Ensemble
    Norwegian Chamber Orchestra
    Terje Tønnesen, violin
    Christian Eggen
  • Ensemble
    Iceland Symphony Orchestra
    Sigrún Edvaldsdóttir, violin
    Petri Sakari
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.