Repertoire Search

Haflidi Hallgrímsson

Publisher: Chester Music

Metamorphoses (1993)
commissioned by the Young Musicians Trust, Edinburgh
Work Notes
in memory of John Tunnell, written for Jaime Laredo
Chester Music Ltd
Small Ensemble (2-6 players)
Year Composed
10 Minutes
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Haflidi Hallgrímsson Metamorphoses (1993)
'Metamorphoses is written in memory of the violinist John Tunnell, who was one of the founders of the Scottish Chamber Orchestra, and its leader for almost two decades. 'Metamorphoses' was commissioned by the Young Musicians Trust in Edinburgh, and received its premiere at the Queen’s Hall in Edinburgh by the Kalichstein-Laredo-Robinson Trio, on 15 March 1994.

'Metamorphoses' is essentially a dirge that starts calmly, but gradually (through numbers of closely related sections) reaches a slow and solemn lament, played in unison by the violin and cello. The lament eventually reaches a spacious and powerful climax, followed immediately by a quiet and reflective coda.

© Haflidi Hallgrímsson

  • Ensemble
    Fidelio Trio
    Matthew Jones, viola
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2020 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.