Repertoire Search


Publisher: Chester Music

Lush Life: Duke Ellington & Billy Strayhorn
Work Notes
Both legendary songwriters, performers and arrangers, Ellington and Strayhorn collaborated on some of the most beloved jazz standards of all time, including "Take The A Train," "Satin Doll," and the timeless Ellington-Strayhorn adaptation of Tchaikovsky's Nutcracker Suite. Along with a featured guest vocalist, this orchestra-centered concert showcases symphonic arrangements by Jeff Tyzik on a program combining the hits of Ellington with the elegant sophistication of Strayhorn.

Lush Life, a co-production of Schirmer Theatrical, LLC, Greenberg Artists comes with all orchestral arrangements, a solo vocalist and projection design. Technical Rider is available upon request. For more information visit Schirmer Theatrical, and for bookings visit Greenberg Artists.

Music Sales Corporation
Soloists and Orchestra
Jeff Tyzik
Solo Instrument(s)
1 Vocalist
Programme Note
Various Lush Life: Duke Ellington & Billy Strayhorn

Producers Provides (unless otherwise negotiated in writing):
1 Vocalist

Presenter Provides (unless otherwise negotiated in writing):

2 Flutes
2 Oboes (2nd doubles English Horn)
2 Clarinets in Bb
2 Alto Saxes (1st doubles Soprano Sax)
2 Tenor Saxes
1 Bari Sax (Doubles Bass Clarinet)
2 Bassoons

4 Horns in F
3 Trumpets in Bb (all 3 doubling Flugelhorn)
3 Trombones
1 Tuba

2 Perc (Including timpani)

1 Jazz drum set player who is a specialist in jazz and improvisation*

1 Harp

1 Jazz pianist who reads chords changes and is an expert improviser*

1 Guitar player who reads chord changes and improvises*

1 Amplified Acoustic Jazz Bass player who reads chord changes and improvises*

Strings (minimum 10/8/6/6/4 string count)

(* Musicians to be hired by Presenter at approval of Producers)

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Wise Music Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2020 Wise Music Classical. Part of Wise Music Group.