Repertoire Search

John Harbison

Publisher: AMP

IF (monodrama for soprano and ensemble) (2017)
Commissioned by Boston Musica Viva in honor of the 50th Anniversary of Boston Musica Viva, the Santa Fe Chamber Music Festival, and the Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center.
Text Writer
Friedrich Hölderlin, translated from the German by the composer
Associated Music Publishers Inc
Soloist(s) and Large Ensemble (7 or more players)
Year Composed
15 Minutes
Programme Note
John Harbison IF (monodrama for soprano and ensemble) (2017)
Composer note:
My first orchestra piece, Diotima (1975), comes from the early stages of a lifelong preoccupation with the poetry of Friedrich Hölderlin (1770-1843). The poem, Diotima, partakes of the poet's recreation, in his Odes and Elegies, of the ideals of Ancient Greece.

In his mid-thirties, under increasing pressure from the intensity of his imaginative and spiritual ambitions, and his chaotic personal life, Hölderlin's mental stability collapsed. A carpenter and admirer of his poetry, Ernst Zimmer, compassionately sheltered him, as it turned out, for forty-three years (over half the poet's life). Hölderlin continued to write, in a very different manner: simpler, more naive, but still eloquent. The poem, If from the Distance (Wenn aus der Ferne) is one of the first poems of this after-period. It is evidently written in the voice of Susette Gontard, the great love of the poet's life, saying what he would have longed, in vain, for her to say to him. Their separation and her subsequent sudden death were central to his mental breakdown, and the poem appears to be the only treatment of that situation during his long existence in Zimmer's cottage.

My determination to set the poem in English precipitated various attempts at translating it, finally completed during two weeks in Dresden in 2015, the process indivisible from the making of the monodrama, IF, as a piece of music.

— John Harbison

  • 08 MAR 2020
    Schumann's Piano Quintet
    Alice Tully Hall
    Joelle Harvey, Soprano - Michael Brown, Gilbert Kalish, Piano - Ani Kavafian, Francisco Fullana, Violin - Che-Yen Chen, Viola - Dmitri Atapine, Cello - Timothy Cobb, Double Bass - Adam Walker, Flute, Romie de Guise-Langlois, Clarinet - Ian David Rosenbaum, Percussion

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.