Repertoire Search

Gabriela Lena Frank

Publisher: G. Schirmer

Walkabout: Concerto for Orchestra (2016)
Work Notes
West-coast premiere reserved through August 2018.
G Schirmer Inc
Year Composed
30 Minutes
Programme Note
Gabriela Lena Frank Walkabout: Concerto for Orchestra (2016)
Composer Note:
Walkabout: Concerto for Orchestra is inspired by my travels in Perú, my mother’s homeland. Born in the States, I did not begin these fateful trips until my time as a graduate student at the University of Michigan where my teachers encouraged me to answer questions of identity that long persisted for me: What does it mean to be American born yet with such a motley crew of forbearers hailing from Lithuania, China, and Andean South America? For more than twenty years, I’ve been answering this question, with each piece raising yet more to address.

In four movements, Walkabout uses both musical and extra-musical influences. The first movement, Soliloquio Serrano, features our string principles prominently in an introspective yet lyrical “mountain soliloquy.” The second movement is lively and bold, a portrait of “huaracas,” the slingshot weapons favored by the soldiers employed during the 16th century in the dominant Inca empire. “Haillí,” the Quechua word for “prayer,” is our third movement and is both lyrical and passionate. The last movement, “Tarqueada” portrays, after a mysterious opening, one of my favorite scenes of Perú: A great parade of “tarka” flutists who can number up to a hundred at once. These musicians also blow whistles and beat a variety of different drums, creating a sonic effect of controlled chaos that never stops building.

— Gabriela Lena Frank


  • 09 FEB 2020
    Ford Hall, Ithaca College / Ithaca, NY / USA
    Ithaca College Symphony Orchestra
    Dr. Octavio Mas-Arocas, conductor

    Other Dates:
    28 February - Ford Hall, Ithaca College / Ithaca, NY / USA

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.