Repertoire Search

Donnacha Dennehy

Publisher: G. Schirmer

Bulb (2006)
G Schirmer Inc
Works for 2-6 Players
Sub Category
Piano Trio
Year Composed
20 Minutes
Sale from Rental Library Explain this...
Programme Note

Listen on Spotify
Composer note:
Bulb was commissioned by the Fidelio Trio with funds provided by the Arts Council of Ireland. It takes as its basis the overtone series built on a very low G, and it grows outwards from a small band of these overtones by means of pulsing glissandi (in the violin and cello). Well in fact these pulsing glissandi are for the most part made of 2 notes (one moving, the other providing a reference drone by its repetitions). By the end, the violin and piano have swapped registral places. It’s an artificial vandalism of a natural phenomenon (the overtone series), like the way electric lighting is of the visual spectrum, or the paintings of Bridget Riley are of various natural perceptions.

— Donnacha Dennehy

  • Ensemble
    Fidelio Trio
    NMC Records:
The pianist Eric Huebner was arresting…pulsing away with the machine-like rhythms of “Bulb,” a piano trio by Donnacha Dennehy.
Seth Colter Walls, The New York Times,31/01/2019
In Bulb minimalist rhythmic patterns pull wavelike movements, which are repeated over and over. But it is not monotonous. The repetitions come alive as only single notes sound, which then unfold in incredibly complex ways, brilliant in its various overtones.
Isabelle Wiltgen , Reutlinger General-Anzeiger ,16/08/2016
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.