Repertoire Search

Kaija Saariaho

Publisher: Chester Music

Aure (2011)
Work Notes
dedicated to Henry Dutilleux
Chester Music Ltd
Works for 2-6 Players
Year Composed
5 Minutes

Scores on subscription
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Kaija Saariaho Aure (2011)
Shadows of Time in five episodes for orchestra by Henri Dutilleux is a work that I particularly admire. It is a rich and extraordinarily shaped composition. I find the third movement, "Mémoire des ombres" (Memories of Shadows) deeply moving in its subject (the text is a sentence from Anne Frank’s diary: "Why us, why the star?"), in its dedication – "for Anne Frank and for all the children in the world, all innocent (1945-1995)" – and in its unforgettable compositional mastery.

I took a phrase, the first one sung by the child’s voice, as a point of departure for my little homage because it has often come to my mind since 1998, the year I first heard the work.

I wrote this piece originally as an homage to Henri Dutilleux’s 95th birthday.
The present version for violin and cello has been created for Jennifer Koh and Anssi Karttunen, and is dedicated for them.

Aure, physics, old word. Breeze, breath, air:
We were caressed by a gentle breeze that our ancient language called "aure"; a kind of delicate morning breeze, misty and scented in the dew.

Chateaubriand, Mémoires d'outre-tombe (Memories from Beyond the Grave).

© Kaija Saariaho

Score sample

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.