Repertoire Search

Judith Weir

Publisher: Chester Music

Truly I Tell You (2014)
First performed by the Choir of Westminster Abbey at the Commonwealth Day Observance, 9th March 2015.
Text Writer
Chester Music Ltd
Chorus a cappella / + 1 instrument
Year Composed
4 Minutes
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Judith Weir Truly I Tell You (2014)

When I consider your heavens, the work of your fingers,
the moon and the stars that you have ordained,

What is man, that you should be mindful of him;
the son of man, that you should seek him out?

You have made him little lower than the angels
and crown him with glory and honour.

You have given him dominion over the works of your hands
and put all things under his feet.

O Lord our governor,
how glorious is your name in all the world.
Psalm 8: 4–10

Truly I tell you, whoever does not receive the kingdom of God
as a little child will never enter it.
Mark 10: 15

I will bless the Lord at all times;
his praise shall ever be in my mouth.

My soul shall glory in the Lord;
let the humble hear and be glad.

O magnify the Lord with me;
let us exalt his name together.

I sought the Lord and he answered me
and delivered me from all my fears.
Psalm 34: 1–4

Truly I tell you .

Truly I tell you is a four-minute, useful church anthem that is not too difficult, from the current Master of the Queen’s Music. Verses from Psalms 8 and 34 frame Mark 10.15 ‘Truly I tell you, whoever does not receive the kingdom of God as a little child will never enter it.’ Much of the four-part writing doubles sopranos with tenors and altos with basses, making it easier to learn, but there is never a sense of writing to make it easy – the music feels naturally conceived that way. A good organist will make the playful organ part sparkle. Highly recommended.
RSCM Church Music Quarterly,06/01/2016
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Wise Music Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2020 Wise Music Classical. Part of Wise Music Group.