Repertoire Search

Philip Glass

Publisher: Chester Music

The Marriages Between Zones Three, Four, and Five (1997)
commissioned by the Theater der Stadt Heidelberg
Work Notes
Opera in two acts. Libretto (English) by Doris Lessing
Text Writer
Doris Lessing
Dunvagen Music Publishers Inc
Opera and Music Theatre
Year Composed
2 Hours 13 Minutes
SATB, off-stage chorus SATB
Solo Instrument(s)
2 Sopranos, 2 Mezzo sopranos, Tenor, 2 Baritones, Bass
Programme Note
Philip Glass The Marriages Between Zones Three, Four, and Five (1997)
Murti - soprano
Vashti - soprano
Al Ith - mezzo-soprano
Dabeeb - mezzo-soprano
Sylvan - tenor
Ben Ata - baritone
Jarnti - baritone
Kunzor - bass
Mixed Chorus

"Marriages" is the 2nd part of the trilogy of operas based on the "Canopus in Argos" series of novels by Doris Lessing. The work is set in the indeterminate lands of the Zones, Strange realms which encircle the Earth. Zone Three, a peaceful, contented, matriarchal paradise, is ruled by the gentle Queen Al-Ith; the neighbouring Zone four is land given to war and chaos, controlled by brutal warrior-king, Ben-Ata. Their marriage, a melding of the extreme male and female principles, threatens to destabilise the entire galactic empire.

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.