Repertoire Search

Philip Glass

Publisher: Chester Music

Einstein on the Beach (1976)
Work Notes
Opera in four acts by Robert Wilson and Philip Glass which includes two large-scale dance scenes. Spoken text (English) by Christopher Knowles, Samuel M Johnson and Lucinda Childs.
Text Writer
spoken text by Christopher Knowles, Samuel M Johnson and Lucinda Childs
Dunvagen Music Publishers Inc
Opera and Music Theatre
Year Composed
4 Hours 30 Minutes
SATB (16 voices)
English, German
Solo Instrument(s)
2S, T, 4 speaking roles

Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
Reduced Score Reduced Score

Programme Note
Philip Glass Einstein on the Beach (1976)
2 female, 1 male, and 1 male child in speaking roles (for the Wilson production)
16 person SATB chamber chorus
soprano soloist
smaller tenor solo part

The first in Glass' trilogy of operas about men who changed the world through the power of their ideas, Einstein's sub-text is science. The opera is non-narrative in form, and the producer has two options: to reproduce the original Robert Wilson production (which exists on videotape), or to create a new series of stage and dance pictures based on themes relating to the life of Albert Einstein. The opera is structured in four ‘acts’ connected by ‘knee plays’, or intermezzi.

  • Ensemble
    Philip Glass Ensemble
    Sony Masterworks:
  • Ensemble
    Philip Glass Ensemble
    Michael Riesman
  • 04 MAY 2018
    Performing Arts Recital Hall, San Bernardino, CA
    California State University - San Bernardino

    Other Dates:
    5 May - Performing Arts Recital Hall, San Bernardino, CA
  • 23 APR 2017
    Dortmund, Germany
    Dortmunder Philharmoniker, Chorwerk Ruhr
    Florian Helgath, conductor

    Other Dates:
    28 April; 4,13 May; 4 June - Dortmund, Germany
  • 27 MAR 2014
    Thalia Theater, Symphony Space, NY
    Dublin Guitar Quartet
    David Leisner, guitar
  • 01 DEC 2012
    Bauhaus, Dessau, Germany
    Anhaltische Philharmonie Dessau
    Daniel Carlberg, conductor

    Other Dates:
    3 December -
  • 24 MAR 2012
    Minimal Extreme
    City Halls, Glasgow
    Ars Nova
    Jonathan Morton, conductor
  • 20 JAN 2012
    Ann Arbour, MI
    Pomegranate Arts Inc
    Lucinda Childs choreography

    Other Dates:
    4 May - Barbican, London
    5,6,10,11,9,12,13 May - Barbican, London
    21,22 January - Ann Arbour, MI
    16-18 March - Montpellier, France
    24,25 March - Reggio Emilia, Italy
    8-10 June - Sony Centre for the Performing Arts, Toronto, Canada
    14-16,19-23 September - Opera House, Brooklyn, NY
    26-28 October - Zellerbach Hall, Berkeley, CA
    9-11 November - Teatro del Palacio de Bellas Artes, Mexico City, Mexico
    5-7,10-12 January 2013 - Het Muziektheatre, Amsterdam, Netherlands
  • 30 SEP 2008
    Doornik, Belgium
    Champ d'Action

    Other Dates:
    1 October - Brussels, Belgium
    2 October - Borgerhout, Belgium
    3 October - Gent, Belgium
  • 06 DEC 2007
    Stern Auditorium, Carnegie Hall, New York, USA
    Philip Glass Ensemble
    Timothy Fain, violin; Michael Riesman, conductor
  • 10 NOV 2006
    Opera National de Paris-Garnier, Paris, France
    Ballet de l'Opera National de Paris-Garnier

    Other Dates:
    11,14,16-18 November - Opera National de Paris-Garnier, Paris, France
    13 November - Opera National de Paris-Garner, Paris, France
  • 01 JUN 2006
    Dunstan Playhouse, State Opera of South Australia
    New co-production of Einstein on the Beach (Parts 1 & 2) by State Opera of South Australia and Leigh Warren & Dancers directed by Leigh Warren, designed by Mary Moore, lighting desig by Geoff Cobham and performed by artists of Leigh Warren & Dancers and Adelaide Vocal Project ; Timothy Sexton, conductor

    Other Dates:
    2-4 June - Dunstan Playhouse, State Opera of South Australia
  • 22 AUG 2001
    Berlin, Germany
    Berthold Schneider, director; Ari Meyers, conductor

    Other Dates:
    24,26,29,31 August - Berlin, Germany

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2018 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.