Repertoire Search

Avner Dorman

Publisher: G. Schirmer

After Brahms (3 intermezzi for piano) (2014)
G Schirmer Inc
Solo Keyboard(s)
Year Composed
12 Minutes
Sale from Rental Library Explain this...
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Avner Dorman After Brahms (3 intermezzi for piano) (2014)

  • Soloist(s)
    Orli Shaham, piano
    Canary Classics:
Dorman’s rethinking of two Brahms intermezzi (Op. 118, No. 1 and Op. 119, No.1) are wildly virtuosic. I will not be able to hear the originals without thinking of Dorman’s clever settings, which were startling at times, but satisfying.
Susan Miron, The Arts Fuse,09/06/2019
Shaham has Dorman's tricky musical shards comfortably beneath her fingers and the opening Allegro, with its dynamic cascading chords that descend to the very depths of the piano was dispatched with deceptive ease. The beauty of the Delicatamente con molto espressione prefigured Satie (with a romantically pulsating interior), while in the empty and discordant final Adagio espressivo, Shaham captured something of the loneliness of the closeted and aging Brahms.
Clive Paget, Limelight,04/07/2017
Rather than a challenging foray into atonal territory, these three pieces made a worthy postscript to Brahms’ output. Full bodied and satisfying, they took both direct and indirect reference from the Brahms piano pieces.
Fraser Beath McEwing, J-Wire,04/07/2017
These three intermezzi, “After Brahms”, were commissioned by American pianist Orli Shaham in 2014 from the composer Avner Dorman. They are three short pieces that have extended the harmonic language of Brahms whilst retaining the style and technical idioms of his music. The first piece is marked Allegro con molto appassionato and has all the power and passion of Intermezzo No. 1 of Op. 118 with a broad and expansive sound and a creeping line of falling semiquavers. No. 2 is delicatamente con molta espressione and is an exquisite piece of music. Its opening pattern is reminiscent of the falling chords built note by note in Intermezzo No. 1 of Op. 119 and is such a beautiful and expressive piece. Unlike Brahms, the time signature changes in practically every bar, oscillating between 5/16 and 6/16 with a few bars of 4/16 or 7/16 also included. However, nothing ruffles the expressive quality of this piece. The third and final piece, adagio espressivo, has a lugubrious opening with the slowly moving melody in an inner part whilst the ending is more like a Capriccio. Great pieces for advanced students, with No. 2 being particularly special
Angela Fogg, EPTA Journal,01/02/2017
Dorman's After Brahms is a standout, especially the thoughtful, intimate and beautiful final movement.
Best New Releases of July 2015, Colorado Public Radio,17/07/2015
The first of the three movements…took its cue from Op. 118, No. 1, directly quoting that work but subtly adding chromatic colorations, culminating in a coda of atomic force. The second movement, based on Op. 119, No. 1, had a soulful, almost blues feel. The closing Adagio espressivo movement, the only completely original one, was ironically the most Brahmsian of all, beginning with a simple, understated theme that gradually accumulates dissonant harmonization. Shaham was a spectacular advocate for these works, bringing her virtuosity and intelligent musicianship to bear throughout.
Tim Sawyer, Chicago Classic Review,01/06/2015
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.