Repertoire Search

Outi Tarkiainen

Publisher: Edition Wilhelm Hansen

Siimes (2017)
Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen
Works for 2-6 Players
Year Composed
Unavailable Explain this...
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
Full Score   

Programme Note
Outi Tarkiainen Siimes (2017)
Siimes is my second wind quintet and is based on the saxophone concerto Saivo.
The title of the work suggests an allegorical hiding place deep in the forest, from where one can easily observe the surrounding reality. The first movement flows and swirls like diving under water, at times changing direction and always bubbling merrily. The second movement’s ethereal shimmering culminates into the last movement’s mighty chord pillars that pile up on one another like an ash cloud.

Siimes is dedicated to Auriga Wind Quintet’s flautist Heli Haapala, who commissioned the work with the support of the Sibelius Foundation.

  • 07 NOV 2018
    Culture House Orrela, Teuva, Finland
    Pohjamaa Wind Quintet

    Other Dates:
    8 November - Seinäjoki Hall, Seinäjoki, Finland
  • 08 APR 2018
    Siimes Country Premiere
    Kulturhuset Smørum, Denmark
    Esjberg Ensemble

    Other Dates:
    18 April - Syddansk Musikkonservatorium, Esbjerg, Denmark
    11 April - Alvar Aalto Library, Vyborg, Russia
    15 April - Tampere, Finland
  • 03 APR 2018
    St. Paul Chapel, Saariselkä, Fnland
    Lapland Chamber Orchestra Wind Quintet
  • 10 SEP 2017
    Siimes World Premiere
    Korundi House of Culture, Rovaniemi, Finland
    Auriga Wind Quintet

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2018 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.