Repertoire Search

Outi Tarkiainen

Publisher: Edition Wilhelm Hansen

Saivo (2017)
Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen
Soloist(s) and Orchestra
Year Composed
27 Minutes
Solo Instrument(s)
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Outi Tarkiainen Saivo (2017)
The saxophone concerto Saivo paints a musical portrait of a saxophonist of a new kind. The word ”saivo” originates from the ancient Sami beliefs meaning a two-bottomed lake, where under a lake dwells another lake and another world which is inhabited by otherworldly creatures – a world that is the exact mirror image of our world. The saxophone concerto builds sonorous timbral bridges between the effected soprano saxophone and the orchestra, and grows eventually into an illusion of another reality which is similar, yet in a peculiar way different than the world we know. The work was commissioned by Tapiola Sinfonietta and it is dedicated to the saxophonist Jukka Perko

- Outi Tarkiainen

Score preview

Outi Tarkiainen’s saxophone concerto is a mature and inspiring work. [...] Tarkiainen’s feel for colour is refined, and her handling of the orchestra is enchanting. [...] The concerto is a coherent and economical, mature and successful work that will, one suspects and hopes, get numerous further performances.
Veijo Murtomäki, Helsingin Sanomat,19/11/2017
The saxophone concerto was marked by potent handling of the orchestra. […] The orchestra is clearly Tarkiainen’s most personal means of expression.
Auli Särkiö-Pitkänen, Rondo Classic,18/11/2017
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.