Repertoire Search

Outi Tarkiainen

Publisher: Edition Wilhelm Hansen

The Earth, Spring's Daughter (2015)
Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen
Soloist(s) and Orchestra
Year Composed
41 Minutes
Programme Note
Outi Tarkiainen The Earth, Spring's Daughter (2015)
Eanan, giđa nieida (in Engl. The Earth, Spring’s Daughter) is a mythical epos illustrating the core experiences of the North from the history to our times. The text is a vast collage of Sami poetry – the Sami people being the only indigenous people in the Europe. The strong mutual bond between the generations and the Sami culture’s cyclical perception of time are present also in the structure of the work: the music unfolds in layers and cycles, to be born again and again. The work was commissioned by three northernmost professional orchestras in Europe: Lapland Chamber Orchestra (FIN), Norrbotten Chamber Orchestra (SWE) and Arctic Philharmonic (NOR).
- Outi Tarkiainen


Score preview

  • 14 SEP 2018
    Bodø, Norway
    Arctic Philharmonic
    Virpi Räisänen, mezzo soprano ; Tim Weiss, conductor
  • 13 SEP 2018
    Stormen Koncerthus, Bodø, Norway
    The Arctic Philharmonic Sinfonietta
    Virpi Räisänen; Tim Weiss, conductor
  • 16 FEB 2018
    Tromsø, Norway
    Arctic Philharmonic
    Virpi Räisänen, mezzosoprano
  • 04 DEC 2017
    Swedish Radio P2
    Norrbotten Chamber Orchestra
    Virpi Räisänen, mezzosoprano; Okko Kamu, conductor
  • 14 SEP 2017
    Kulturens Hus, Luleå, Sweden
    Norrbotten Chamber Orchestra
    Virpi Räisänen, mezzosoprano; Okko Kamu, conductor

    Other Dates:
    15 September - Church of Haparanda, Haparanda, Sweden
    16 September - Studio Acusticum, Piteå, Sweden
  • 01 SEP 2016
    Korundi House of Culture, Rovaniemi, Finland
    Lapland Chamber Orchestra
    Virpi Räisänen, mezzosoprano; John Storgårds, conductor

    Other Dates:
    2 September - The Sámi Cultural Centre Sajos, Inari, Finland

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2018 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.