Repertoire Search

John Luther Adams

Strange and Sacred Noise
Taiga Press (BMI)
Works for 2-6 Players
1 Hour 15 Minutes

Scores on subscription
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
John Luther Adams Strange and Sacred Noise
Noise - complex, aperiodic sound - touches and moves us in profound and mysterious ways. Strange and Sacred Noise is a celebration of noise as a metaphor for turbulent phenomena in the world around us, and a gateway to ecstatic experience.

Grounded in the elemental violence of nature and the self-similar forms of linear fractals, this music is a convergence of sonic geography and sonic geometry. Each piece in the cycle is conceived as its own distinct and separate sound world, evoking the immediacy and presence of a place.

These soundscapes are inspired by and dedicated to composers who have explored strange new worlds of sound.

...dust into dust... is a sonic equivalent of the Cantor dust - a fractal model of the behavior of electrical noise - articulated by 2 snare drums and 2 fields drums.

solitary and time-breaking waves (after James Tenney) is scored for 4 tam-tams. Waves of intensity with varied periods gradually drift together cresting in a massive tsunami of sound.

velocities crossing in phase space (after Conlon Nancarrow and Peter Garland) - for 6 tom-toms and 4 bass drums - is a canon in continuous waves of acceleration and ritardando, modeled after Nancarrow's Canon X and Garland's Meditation on Thunder.

triadic iteration lattices (to Edgard Varése and Alvin Lucier) - for four sirens - traverses an expanding field of rising and falling glissandi. The piece is modeled on the Seripenski gasket: an Eiffel-tower of reiterated, telescoping pyramids.

clusters on a quadrilateral grid (to Morton Feldman) is scored for four marimbas, four vibraphones, and four sets of orchestra bells. It is a sounding of the Menger Sponge: an enigmatic quadrilateral with an infinite surface area, and a volume of zero.

...and dust rising... is scored for 2 snare drums and 2 field drums. Out of silence, points of dust emerge to become relentless, reiterated noise.

  • Ensemble
    Percussion Group Cincinnati
    Mode Records:
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.