Repertoire Search

John Luther Adams

Qilyaun (solo version) (1998)
Taiga Press (BMI)
Solo Works (excluding keyboard)
Year Composed
15 Minutes
Alternate Orchestration
four bass drums
Programme Note
John Luther Adams Qilyaun (solo version) (1998)
"Qilyaun" is the Iñupiaq word for the shaman's drum. Translated literally, it means "device of power". The drum is the shaman's vehicle for spirit journeys. The shaman rides the sound of the drum to and from the spirit world.

Qilyaun (1998) may be performed by four drummers each playing a bass drum, or by a single drummer with electronic delay.

Commissioned by the Fairbanks Symphony Association, the piece is dedicated to Scott Deal, who gave its first performances. Qilyaun traverses a continuum of rhythm. From the rapid-fire streams of the opening, the dummers gradually decelerate to sustained rolls in the middle and then gradually accelerate again to the unison ending.

John Luther Adams

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2018 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.