Repertoire Search

John Luther Adams

Become Ocean (2013)
Taiga Press (BMI)
Year Composed
42 Minutes
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
John Luther Adams Become Ocean (2013)
Over the years my orchestral music has become simpler and more expansive.

Clouds of Forgetting, Clouds of Unknowing (1991-95) contains four different musical textures. In the White Silence (1998) has three. For Lou Harrison (2002) reduces this to just two.

In Dark Waves (2007), I finally got to one. When I first heard that piece I began to wonder if I could sustain a similar sound for a longer span of time. The result is Become Ocean, a meditation on the vast, deep and mysterious tides of existence.

The title is borrowed from a mesostic verse that John Cage wrote in honor of Lou Harrison's birthday. Likening Harrison's music to a river in delta, Cage writes:

LiStening to it
we becOme

Life on this earth first emerged from the sea. And as the polar ice melts and sea level rises, we humans find ourselves facing the prospect that once again we may quite literally become ocean.

John Luther Adams

Preview the score:

  • Ensemble
    Seattle Symphony
    Ludovic Morlot
  • 17 APR 2020
    Caroline H. Hume Concert Hall / San Francisco, CA / USA
    Conservatory Orchestra
    Christopher Rountree, conductor

    Other Dates:
    19 April - Mertes Center for the Arts / Livermore, CA / USA
  • 22 MAY 2020
    BBC Hoddinott Hall / Cardiff / UK
    BBC National Orchestra of Wales
    Geoffrey Paterson, conductor

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Wise Music Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2020 Wise Music Classical. Part of Wise Music Group.