Repertoire Search

Nico Muhly

Publisher: Chester Music

Patterns (2014)
Commissioned by the American Guild of Organists
St. Rose
Solo Keyboard(s)
Year Composed
14 Minutes
Solo Instrument(s)

Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
Full Score   

Programme Note
Nico Muhly Patterns (2014)
Patterns is composed in four sections, each of which is sort of a rhythmic étude. The first (“Move Along”) is a perpetual motion machine with staggered and angular rhythms thrown between the pedals and the left hand. The second movement (“Palindromes”) is calmer and is centered around an idée fixe in the left hand while the right hand interjects and ornaments. The pedals, here, are a clumsy cousin, constantly upturning the sense of rhythmic stability. The third movement (“Similar”) is all to do with ways to divide up the bar: seven, eight, six, five, four — it’s all there. Then the finale (“Very Fast Music”) is a perpetual motion machine on its highest setting — manic and hyper, with hiccoughs offsetting the regularity of some of the rhythms.

Preview the score

  • 24 FEB 2016
    Patterns UK Premiere
    Temple Church, London
    James McVinnie, organ
  • 24 JUN 2014
    Patterns World Premiere
    American Guild of Organists
    John Scott

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2014 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.