Repertoire Search

Tarik O'Regan

Publisher: Novello & Co

Alice Changes (2014)
Written for Thomas Gould
Novello & Co Ltd
Solo Works (excluding keyboard)
Year Composed
4 Minutes

Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
Full Score   

Programme Note
Tarik O'Regan Alice Changes (2014)
Alice Changes (for Tom) is a short piece for solo violin, composed for Thomas Gould. The work progresses through a series of increasingly intricate figurations, which sit on top of the same underlying chord progression found in Charlie Parker’s Blues for Alice (1951). A variation of the twelve-bar blues, this harmonic sequence goes by several names, such as: “Bird blues”, “Bird changes”, or “Alice changes” .
Thomas Gould premiered Alice Changes at Ronnie Scott’s Jazz Club in London on 30 March, 2014.
Tarik O’Regan

  • 14 MAY 2014
    Vale of Glamorgan Festival
    Royal Welsh college of Music and Drama, Cardiff
    Quatuor Tana
  • 30 MAR 2014
    Alice Changes World Premiere
    Classical Kicks!
    Ronnie Scotts Jazz Club, London
    Thomas Gould

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2014 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.