Repertoire Search

Augusta Read Thomas

Publisher: G. Schirmer

Hemke Concerto 'Prisms of Light' (for sax and orchestra) (2013)
Work Notes
The piano reduction is available from Classical on Demand.
G Schirmer Inc
Soloist(s) and Orchestra
Year Composed
22 Minutes
Alto saxophone
Programme Note
Augusta Read Thomas Hemke Concerto 'Prisms of Light' (for sax and orchestra) (2013)
The dramatic Hemke Concerto, “Prisms of Light” (2014) was commissioned as a retirement gift for legendary saxophonist and pedagogue Frederick L. Hemke by many of his students past and present. (Hemke was Thomas’s colleague during her years on the faculty of Northwestern University.) Hemke Concerto represents a new high point for Thomas’s pursuit of the luminous—the music truly explodes with sun-infused vigor. The four sections bear typical Thomas titles: Illuminations, Sunrise Ballad, Chasing Radiance, and Solar Rings. The work overall possesses a fast—slow—fast shape, with the duration of the first, second, and third/fourth (combined) sections forming equal thirds of about seven minutes each. The opening “Illuminations” begins with a blaze. The orchestra and saxophone interact spiritedly, with the orchestra often merging the saxophone into its glittering texture. The second section begins slowly and lyrically, and gradually builds in intensity to a sonorous climax. The short third section is a scherzo-like caprice and leads into the final “Solar Rings”—music that raises the energy and luminosity of the opening to a new height, before ending in one of Thomas’s most ecstatic blazes. This concerto is music that almost requires the listener to wear sunglasses—exploring fully the saxophone’s capacity for both lyrical, human expression and glorious, otherworldly color.

- Carson Cooman

  • Ensemble
    New Haven Symphony
    William Boughton
    Nimbus Alliance:
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.