Repertoire Search

Brian Elias

Publisher: Chester Music

String Quartet (2012),
This quartet was commissioned by the Jerusalem String Quartet with funds made available by Louise Kaye in memory of her father Harold Yauner (1922-2012), a man who loved music, and by the Secrest Series at Wake Forest University, Winston-Salem, North Carolina, USA, where the first performance took place on 8th October 2013.
Chester Music Ltd
Small Ensemble (2-6 players)
Sub Category
String Quartet
Year Composed
20 Minutes
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Brian Elias String Quartet (2012),
Although this quartet is laid out in a fairly conventional four-movement plan (Allegro, Adagio, Presto, Adagio-Allegro-Adagio), it is, in effect, a work in one movement, and is performed without any breaks. A set of double variations generates the thematic and harmonic material for the entire piece in its first few bars; an Adagio that contains a substantial solo for viola follows. The Scherzo, during which the strings are muted, is rapid and pianissimo throughout. In the final section, the opening of the Adagio is stated again and then evolves through several changes of tempo, recalling briefly the initial Allegro before ending the work with a return to the slow music.

Brian Elias (March 2013)

Score sample

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Wise Music Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2020 Wise Music Classical. Part of Wise Music Group.