Repertoire Search

Robert Schumann

Publisher: AMP

Symphony No. 4 in D minor (orginal version) (1841), 120
Work Notes
Available in the USA and Canada only
Breitkopf und Härtel
Year Composed
Jon Finson
29 Minutes
Programme Note
Robert Schumann Symphony No. 4 in D minor (orginal version) (1841), 120
Johannes Brahms championed the performance and publication of the 1841 version in 1888/89. Editor Jon Finson presents the version premiered in December 1841 under the direction of the composer, the autograph of which reveals two levels of corrections. Brahms was unable to prevent retouchings by the conductor Franz Wüllner. The result had been a mixture of both versions. Thanks to Finson, we now have a critically lucid and musically compelling "original version."

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.