Repertoire Search

Simon Holt

Publisher: Chester Music

Escaramuza (2012)
Commissioned by BBC Radio 3 for Radio 3 New Generation Artist Mark Simpson. First performance on 10th July 2013 at the Pittville Pump Room, Cheltenham, by Mark Simpson (clarinet) and Igor Levit (piano)
Chester Music Ltd
Works for 2-6 Players
Year Composed
8 Minutes
Unavailable Explain this...
Programme Note
Simon Holt Escaramuza (2012)
‘Escaramuza’ (the Spanish word for ‘skirmish’) is an 8 minute single movement for clarinet and piano and is dedicated to the wildly talented Mark Simpson. It takes the form of a volatile, cinematic fragment that begins in an almost oppressive, static way, but quickly lurches into a more restless, impulsive state.

Simon Holt - 16/5/13

  • 20 JUL 2013
    Ryedale Festival, UK
    Mark Simpson (clarinet) Richard Uttley (piano)

    Other Dates:
    27 September - Beverley Chamber Music Festival
    5 October - All Saints Church, East Sheen
    16 October - Hexham Music Society, UK
    18 October - Kelso Music Society, UK
    15 December - Seaton Music Club
  • 10 JUL 2013
    Escaramuza World Premiere
    Cheltenham Festival
    Cheltenham, UK
    Mark Simpson, clarinet/ Alex Wilson, piano

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2014 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.