Repertoire Search

Augusta Read Thomas

Publisher: G. Schirmer

Aureole (2012)
Work Notes
Audio clip courtesy of DePaul University
G Schirmer Inc
Year Composed
8 Minutes
Programme Note
Augusta Read Thomas Aureole (2012)
Augusta Read Thomas’s new orchestral work is designed specifically to precede a performance of Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony. Her respect for her compositional predecessor is obvious from her explanation of the title:

The title, AUREOLE, refers to an encircling ring of light; radiance surrounding the head or the whole figure in the representation of a sacred personage or saint; a halo of concentric circles of light seen around a luminous body, especially around the sun or moon.

AUREOLE alludes tangentially to certain fundamental tonal centers of Beethoven Symphony Number 9 in D minor Op. 125.

Surely the sacred personage in this situation is Beethoven himself. Thomas’ use both of tonal centers and intervals crucial to the Ninth Symphony is a musical aureole around the earlier composer’s work.

The work opens with a single pitch, the note D, Beethoven’s symphony’s tonal center. Fanfare-like repeated notes in the trumpets and violins, marked “blazing,” add an A shortly thereafter, creating the interval of a fifth – the open-sounding sonority with which Beethoven’s symphony also begins. The fanfares continue in ever-changing rhythms, moving around the orchestra and creating the composer’s desired “shimmering” effect. The winds and brass land on a chord centered around the pitch B-flat (the single other most important pitch in Beethoven’s symphony) to close the introduction.

The strings immediately jump in, turning the introduction’s repeated notes into a driving rhythmic ostinato centered on the very same B-flat; the marking is “animated and sparkling.” The melodic line explodes, hurling fast-moving sixteenth notes up and down the orchestral register and all around the ensemble. The tempo slows down a bit for a section marked “energized,” and sustained notes make a reappearance, with murmuring triplets underneath. The driving sixteenth notes return quickly, though, just as vigorously as before and are only stopped with a reminiscence of the introduction’s fifths. “Lively and playful” flute and clarinet solos give way to an “incandescent” section made up of sustained harmonies whose ever-changing orchestrations give it a dynamic, fluid character. A rhapsodic trombone solo leads to a return of the shimmering repeated notes and the re-emergence of the introduction’s fanfares. The frenzied melodic activity of the earlier fast section is recalled but interrupted by the final return of the stark, bright fifths. Harmonies built out of this interval comprise a short but luminous coda. The final chord of the work is, again, fifths: D, A, and E – the very first and the very last notes of Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony. An “encircling ring of light” indeed.

—Michael Lewanski

  • Ensemble
    Various Artists
    Nimbus Alliance:
The Meyerson Symphony Center conspicuously crackled with expectation before the music started, but it was the electrifying seven-and-a-half minutes of Aureole that really set things on fire… The mood was set right from the start with a splashy brass fanfare punctuated by clanking commentary from the percussion section — bestowed with a booming drum-filled cadenza. This wake-up-and-pay-attention opening gave way to a jerky scherzo-ish section, built on discrete packets of musical motifs… In short, Aureole is a deliciously exciting piece that is as close to a perfect curtain-raiser bonbon as you can find… The audience, the most important judge of new music, weighed in with a nearly unanimous “yes” vote as demonstrated by a spontaneous ovation.
Gregory Sullivan Isaacs, TheaterJones,14/09/2019
The piece was quite a rousing curtain-raiser…
Scott Cantrell, Dallas Morning News,13/09/2019
Aureole itself, with near-melodic sections interspersed with less tonal interludes, is worthy of multiple listens.
J. Robin Coffelt, Texas Classical Review,13/09/2019
Completed in 2013, Aureole receives from the DePaul University Symphony Orchestra and conductor Cliff Colnot a performance that revels in the exuberant sonoroties of the music. Benefitting from the admirably sure intonation of the Orchestra's players, the fanfare-like figurations at the piece's opening are broadly but rousingly phrased, providing an apt introduction to the generally high spirits of the music that follows. When darker harmonies invade, momentum is maintained both by Maestro Colnot and by the Orchestra, but neither the pace of the performance nor the jocularity of the atmosphere that the music conjures seems forced.
Joseph Newsome,,01/05/2014
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.