Repertoire Search

Tarik O'Regan

Publisher: Novello & Co

Suite from Heart of Darkness for narrator and chamber ensemble (2012)
Commissioned by Whitgift School. First performed 22 November 2012 by members of the Whitgift Chamber Orchestra at the Fairfield Halls, Croydon, conducted by Philip Winter.
Text Writer
Tom Phillips after Joseph Conrad
Novello & Co Ltd
Soloist(s) and Large Ensemble (7 or more players)
Year Composed
28 Minutes
Alternate Orchestration
version available without narration and for full orchestra
Programme Note
Tarik O'Regan Suite from Heart of Darkness for narrator and chamber ensemble (2012)
This suite for chamber ensemble and narrator is an extrapolation from the chamber opera Heart of Darkness, which in turn is based on the novella of the same name by Joseph Conrad.

Occasionally, what was vocal material in the stage work has been redistributed among the
instruments; however the orchestral scoring of the original remains largely intact in the version.

The spoken text for the narrator is written by Tom Phillips and is based on his libretto for the opera. The text is reproduced in full on the following pages and identified within the score by numerical cues, (1A – 8B).

The opera, with music by Tarik O’Regan and a libretto by Tom Phillips, received its premiere at the Royal Opera House Linbury Studio Theatre, London on 1 November 2011.

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2018 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.