Repertoire Search

Matthew Aucoin

Publisher: AMP

Celan Fragments (2014)
Associated Music Publishers Inc
Works for 2-6 Players
Sub Category
Piano + 1 Instrument
Year Composed
5 Minutes
Unavailable Explain this...
Programme Note
Matthew Aucoin Celan Fragments (2014)

Matthew Aucoin and Yuki Beppu performing 'Sprich auch du' from Celan Fragments

Composer note:
The Celan Fragments, for violin and piano, are to be performed in between readings or visual projections of Celan's poems. I want to manifest, in this music, the tension and reciprocal desire that exists between music and speech — the sense that, just as Celan yearns to treat words as "pieces" of music, so can instrumental music strive for a speechlike clarity. What is the border between music and speech? When do we cross it? What are the strengths and limitations of each medium? By juxtaposing these highly musical poems and this highly condensed music, I hope to deepen — not answervthese questions.

— Matthew Aucoin

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.